St. Patrick’s Season: Introduction

7 Mar

St. Patrick’s Day is Twin’s favorite holiday like, ever. Way more than Christmas or 4th of July, which I think are the best ones because I love fireworks and presents. After last year though, St. Patrick’s Day is definitely a close third when it comes to holiday rankings.

Last year SPD was on a Monday and Twin and I both still worked at our previous jobs. I stayed at her place Sunday night so that Monday morning we could wake up early, email our bosses explaining we were just too sick and miserable to possibly make it into work, and pop open a bottle of champagne at 9am. Of course we added green food coloring and applied fake tattoos as we drank green champagne. Anyway, we got a nice morning buzz going and went to go see the entire FDNY march up 5th Ave with C and her girls.

The buzz wore off, we got cold and hungry, and eventually wandered east to get food and green beer. We ate, my passport situation severely pissed off a waitress trying to card me,  and the green beer started flowing. The five of us spent the rest of the day as the only girls in a bar filled with what seemed to be the entire FDNY. Twin spent the rest of the day at said bar making out with a member of the FDNY. At one point, I asked her how old the guy was. She drunkenly snapped at me and told me she really liked him so it didn’t matter.

A lot of other entertaining things happened (I wandered away with Twin’s camera and proceeded to take picturs of myself, etc), but the point is that we realized something about SPD08 that day. SPD, our loving acronym for St. Patrick’s Day, could also stand for some else equally important and far more universal: Sexual Predator Day.

Today is SPD in Hoboken. Ten days early. It’s so unclear to me why this separate celebration takes place, but I’m pretty excited that SPD09 is closer to a season than a holiday!

(Also, Twin gets back from her family vacation so I get to finally see her after over a week!)

4 Responses to “St. Patrick’s Season: Introduction”

  1. Twin March 7, 2009 at 8:38 am #

    It is 6:30 am, I am in the denver airport, and I just burst out laughing, by myself, at “she REALLY liked him.” Ummm… Right.

  2. Lisa March 8, 2009 at 12:26 pm #

    Hi – thanks for the friend add on 20sb! St. Patrick’s Day in Chicago is super intense – it spans two weekends! There’s the south side parade (which I’ve heard is more like Mardi Gras), they dye the river green, there’s the Michigan Ave parade…it goes on and on and on.

  3. Frere March 8, 2009 at 3:10 pm #

    Dude. I liked your old layout better :(
    see you Friday :-D

  4. Dating Without Pants March 9, 2009 at 4:47 pm #

    Hoboken must have been absolutely jammed to the gills. I almost went myself, but my friends told me even the worst bars had lines at 11am. wtf

Leave a Reply

