SPD Missions: Almost Accomplished

20 Mar

This is a 2-parter … Goals are updated here and the next post I’ll do some bulleted highlights of SPD Season ’09.

For the first time ever, this post will be photographically enhanced. Enjoy.

SPD ‘09 Crawl Goals

1. Meet and photograph Thomas Pink We spotted Thomas Pink at the first bar; he got there early so (I can only assume) he could scope out all the educated, but fun, people he wanted to hang out with. Unfortunately, by the time I was intoxicated enough to have the nerve to consider saying “Hey, remember me? You know, from your Facebook networking initiatives?”, he was nowhere to be found. We did, however, manage to snap this photo (Twin is cropped out):

thomas-pink

Yes, this is incredibly creepy. Please remember it is entirely his fault.

2. Drink only green beverages Sadly, we forgot to bring the food coloring out with us and Duane Reade did not sell it. This tragedy was somewhat rectified by the fast that we made green eggs (no ham) at Twin’s pre-game brunch. And then had a photoshoot with them. However, Twin and Frere (the chefs) were in most pictures so this is what you get:

green-eggs

Possibly the green Gak that made up Beth's brain Tuesday night?

3. Steal a minimum of 1 item per bar We almost forgot about this one! Good thing Twin, Frere, and I had printed out copies of the goals list in our back pockets! We only stole from Bar #2 (where we also snapped the shot of good ole’ TP), but Twin’s roommate and I both managed to swipe some necessary items:

Stolen by me: Large shamrock Guiness poster from the window.

Stolen by me: Large shamrock Guiness poster from the window.

Stolen by Twin's Roommate: Specials Display Frame from the table, with the specials removed.

Stolen by Twin's Roommate: Specials Display Frame from the table, with the specials removed.

4. Hand out at least 1 sticker to each new person we meet (including Thomas Pink) Fail. However, we managed to use up both sheets of fake tattoos on ourselves (using ice cubes to apply them at the bar). Here are some results:

Many shamrock tattoos, also somewhat resembling some kind of Leprechaun Skin Disease

Many shamrock tattoos, also somewhat resembling some kind of Leprechaun Skin Disease

Frere and Twin's arms, respectively. I wish they were real.

Frere and Twin's arms, respectively. I wish they were real.

5. Give out The Jew’s  [one of Twin’s – and now my – friends; I promise this is not an offensive nickname :)] phone # to at least 1 male Fail on Saturday, WIN on Tuesday. So much of a success this gets its own post.

6. Convince a set of strangers that Twin and I are twins, Frere and I are siblings, but Frere and Twin are cousins Success. Although then the Sloppy Drunk Guy we convinced of this requested that Twin and Frere kiss, which was revolting on many levels.

7. Avoid getting arrested or throwing up (especially on trees) Success!!!

7a. If throwing up is necessary, it must be done on a tree Entirely unnecessary.

8. Any awesome hats and/or sunglasses we see must be borrowed for a photo shoot To our shock and disappointment, we had the awesome antlers and/or sunglasses during the pub crawl (even the Crawl shirts were MAROON. Wtf.). Tuesday, however, was much more impressive. Thank you FDNY for being inappropriately wasted. (No photo-enhancements here, since these pictures are still on my camera. Sorry).

9. Get a “fellow” [Twin’s college] Alum to remember Frere or me from class one year. Success: While Twin and Frere searched for green food coloring in Duane Reade, I stood in line at the ATM where 3 girls saw my shirt and asked if I was an alum. I said “Yep!” while Frere (wearing the same shirt) said “Nope!” and they said, “Aw, that’s nice–supporting your sibling! We’re ’05 from [college on my shirt], what year were you?” I replied, “2007!” which they accepted and we proceeded to discuss how much we loved [college on my shirt]. I just want to clarify: I’ve never set foot on this campus.

10. Take as many pictures as possible with unknown members of the opposite sex at each bar Fail. We were too busy taking pictures of ourselves and our stolen goods.

So, if we’re being technical, we got about 6.5/10 goals completed. However, the entertainment level was definitely a 10/10.


5 Responses to “SPD Missions: Almost Accomplished”

  1. Beth March 21, 2009 at 12:44 am #

    OK, so I admit I just had to start all the way back at the original Thomas Pink fbook message, and I am DYING. What the hell. THOMAS PINK. And, seriously, do not feel bad about posting the creepy candid of him up there. That was just essential for my entertainment. And you are right, it is entirely his fault for him being the type of person to “network” via facebook.

    Also, those eggs are DEFINITELY what the green gak thoughts looked like as they slithered out of my brain.

  2. B March 22, 2009 at 7:22 pm #

    you are a freak. i miss you.

  3. Bex March 23, 2009 at 9:33 am #

    i agree with B. you are a freak. but that is why i love you. and also, is it weird that i want to eat those eggs?

  4. so@24 March 23, 2009 at 5:40 pm #

    + 4 for the Gak reference.

    You would have gained an extra with a Floam ref. Next time, next time

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Awesome, Awkward, Amazing, and Absurd: Searches That Get You Here « Awesome, Awkward, Amazing, Absurd - May 26, 2010

    […] something related to “shamrock tattoos.” I am fairly positive this is a combination between my SPD posts in 2009 and my post about my actual tattoo, but it’s still hilarious to me. Some people have […]

Leave a Reply

