Earth to Sara…

19 Jan

I’m getting chastised again for not updating. Last time this happened, I had run into a total brain blockage that was preventing me from writing coherently. I didn’t feel like things were happening to me. Now they are happening too fast!

I feel like I’ve been caught up into this whirlwind of unreality and as hard as I try to stand with my feet firmly planted on the ground, I can’t get my head to come back out of the clouds. It’s a weird feeling – being so stretched out. My logical brain just will not reconcile itself with my gut feelings. What this really means is that my instincts are winning out and that somewhere my reasonable side is letting it happen.

This has literally never happened to me before.

I checked last night out of curiosity and the emails started on November 9 – right after we each got back to our respective coasts after the wedding. Since then, there have been over 50 emails, countless texts – both drunk and sober – and I’m guessing at least 10 hours spent on the phone. And now here I am, gearing up to spend 72 hours nonstop with this guy.

In standard NYC terms, 72 hours of dating would take weeks, if not months, depending on how busy you are. For me personally, dates usually last only a couple hours – a few if it’s going really great – so 72 hours with someone is equal to maybe 10 few-hour dates and five sleepovers of the eight-hour variety? My math may be a bit off but the point remains: spending three days straight with someone is a long time.

I told Mama Bird today that I am concerned about getting so caught up in the whirlwind that I will totally lose my grounding and struggle to come back down to earth. She looked at my through gchat (I could see her face as she typed these words) and said, “You’ll be fine.” I’m going to visit her and her new puppy and B the weekend after – mostly to meet the puppy but also so they can both yank my romanticizing, overanalyzing head out of the clouds and pull me back to reality.

And right now there is only one reality: I live in New York City. There’s a cute boy that I have a potentially great connection with across the country. And I am going to find out the day after tomorrow.

2 Responses to “Earth to Sara…”

  1. E January 21, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    Hi! So I just discoverd your blog, and I love it! Do you know I can “subscribe” to you or follow you even though I use blogger?? :)

  2. HR January 22, 2010 at 6:12 am #

    Hello, another new reader here. Just wanted to say go with it and have fun with Cali Guy! I am in the same situation, met a guy in Switzerland over NYE, thought it was a fling, just a few kisses. Spent the next morning together (after roomates had left for the slopes) and to me that was it. Next day I get a phonecall… “so, flights between London and *city in central Europe* are pretty cheap – can I come and visit for a long weekend?”. And so he came, and we had fun, and lots of sex, adventures in the snow, and nice food. And now we both don’t know what’s going, but definately no regrets!

    Just think about it… how many people can you spend that much time with without a break? I would struggle even with my best friend.

    Anyway, have a great trip!!

Leave a Reply

