Giddy About Sin City!

24 Jan

It starts in my chest – a little flutter and maybe a catch in my breath. Then it spreads into my arms – they are restless and a bit shaky, but in a good way. Jittery. But happy jitters. Then it’s in my gut and exploding upwards again until my heart is actually racing. Suddenly my mouth can’t not grin the kind of grin that gives me dimples. The dimples that only appear when happiness is literally bursting through my pores.

That’s the kind of giddy glee I’ve been experiencing ever since I dropped five hundo on the legendary Bloggers in Sin City (un)Conference.

And convinced my brother to come with me.

So I’ve always wanted to attend Bloggers in Sin City. I’ve always wanted to go to Vegas, too, but neither has ever worked out.

I started this blog in early 2009, right around the time the first BiSC was announced. At that point in my life, I’d never have considered actually going. I mean, everyone going had these super popular blogs with tons of commenters and real followers and from where I stood, it seemed like they all knew each other already.

Also I was just kinda wimpy back then.

But then I kept writing. And BiSC kept happening. And then it became 2012 and I was like, wait, I need to GO. What have I been waiting for?

So I signed up. I signed up even though I didn’t know when I’d have an income. I signed up even though I have met just one person going – and he’s my little brother. (Which is awesome). I signed up even though I still think that everyone else has more popular blogs than I do.

Which brings me to my next point. It doesn’t matter! I remember in high school when I was floating around on the outskirts of the “popular” crowd. I remember feeling intimidated and excluded and just generally not cool enough to join in.

And then I think about how that was 10 years ago and I get really proud of where I am now. Of course I anticipate being a little nervous rolling into Vegas to party with 58 people I’ve never met. But there’s not one trace of doubt that I’ll fit right in. There’s no part of me that wants to hang out on the outskirts and watch – and I’m beyond thrilled to be ready to dive right in.

Something even more exciting? BiSC has partnered up with Paper’d App to cover the full cost of registration for one lucky attendee! If I win, I’m going to split the cost with my brother (#SibsInSinCity!) and also look into getting an iPhone … so, you know, maybe I could actually use the super cool app that paid for my trip!

4 Responses to “Giddy About Sin City!”

  1. suki January 24, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    #sibsinsincity is the best thing ever. :) i’m looking forward to meeting you!

  2. Ameena January 24, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    the fact that you are going with your brother makes me really happy. so excited you decided to take the plunge! you won’t regret it :)

  3. nicole antoinette January 26, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    So, so excited to meet you! Eff yeah BiSC!

  4. B January 29, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    Yess!! I am so proud/happy for you!

Leave a Reply

