A Message From the Universe, or Why I’m Abandoning Mental Plans

9 Apr

Back in October of last year, I finally admitted to myself that I was ready to leave Manhattan. Well, that I was ready to start being ready to leave. Baby steps, you know?

I created this grand Mental Plan involving quitting my job at the four-year mark and moving out to Chicago. The timeline for this Grand Mental Plan had me staying with my job through May 2012 and peacing out sometime this summer.

But then I got laid off in December.

So I adjusted my Mental Plan. I decided the universe didn’t want me to follow through with the plan and that I was meant to stay in New York City for another year. I got a new apartment and found a new job by the end of January and committed to spending 2012 right here in NYC. I even wrote an essay about the experience – that’s how well I convinced myself I’d be satisfied with the new direction my life was heading in.

Anyway, I continued taking baby steps. The new apartment, new neighborhood, new roommate, new job and all that came with it? Those changes satiated my restlessness for, oh, about five or six weeks.

My mind kept wandering, though. I felt that itch to leave, but this time it was even stronger than before. And when I let my mind wander, it didn’t go to Chicago. It went farther than I’ve allowed it to go – all the way to Los Angeles. So I created a new Mental Plan. I’d continue at my (new) job through the end of the year, finish out my lease, and then hopefully relocate and keep my job. I vocalized this plan to a close friend on Wednesday night, on March 28.

The next morning, I posted this – alluding to a big life change that I couldn’t yet disclose.

An hour later, I got laid off. Again.

The world swam before my teary eyes; my head filled with cotton; I lost my footing once again as the floor was ripped out from under me. Panic set in as I felt myself floating through my life, again with no control over anything.

But after a few hours of deep breathing, lots of tears, and several blubbering phone calls, I forced myself to gain a little perspective. I forced myself to face the brutally honest gut feeling I’d had from the moment I knew I was losing my job:


I was relieved! I was freed from the ties keeping me here; I could do anything, go anywhere.

Messages from the universe – fate, destiny, whatever you want to call it – are nothing more than your own perception of your circumstances. Sometimes, though, your perception of the circumstances aligns perfectly with that deep-down desire you’ve been too scared to act on.

That’s what happened to me. I don’t believe I can be laid off from two different jobs in under four months and NOT create a life that is a total departure from the one I’m currently living. Mental Plans just goad the universe into challenging them; I feel like I’ve been dared to take the giant leap.

Here’s the thing about baby steps that no one tells you: They don’t get you anywhere. They’re certainly safer and far less scary than a big jump, but even babies learn to run eventually. Most recently, Doniree comparedĀ it to ripping off a band-aid; there’s a mental disconnect between picking up your foot and actually leaping.

Well, some of us learn important life lessons by pole dancing. I get laid off.

Either way, I’m ripping off the band-aid, taking a giant leap forward, abandoning any pretense of having even a clue as to what I’m doing. I’m leaning into the utter terror I feel at uprooting the life I’ve known for years – and I’m moving to Los Angeles.

7 Responses to “A Message From the Universe, or Why I’m Abandoning Mental Plans”

  1. Ashley April 9, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    Ah, how exciting and gusty. Can’t wait to have you out here!

  2. suki April 9, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    Comment box was minimized. It’s here! So *cue screaming* :) You have to listen to the universe!

  3. kelly April 9, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    Soon we will lure all of the awesome people to the West Coast and we shall take over the world…muhahahahaha. Er, I mean, YAY! Way to take the leap!

  4. Sassy Marmalade April 9, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    Your new adventure is so exciting! Good for you for seeing this as an opportunity and not a roadblock.

  5. Ameena April 10, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    dude! that’s so exciting! I’M SO EXCITED FOR YOU! gahhh, all the cool kids live in los angeles it seems.

  6. mazapoint July 2, 2012 at 5:12 am #

    The timeline for this impressive psychological preparation had me wait with my occupation as of side to side May 2012 and peacing out for a flash this summer


  1. Why LA? | Bungee Coasting - June 23, 2012

    […] I announced, several months ago, that I was planning to move to LA, a lot of people had a lot of reactions, but the most common question was, “Why […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 464 other followers

